Norwegian Life: Signs, Money, and Taxes

Things are not good here for the red-green color blind. The green walking man is important if you don’t want to get run over when crossing busy intersections. The walk signs show a green person (not walking, like the walk signs in the U.S.) when you’re supposed to walk, flashing green person when you’re supposed to finish crossing, and a red person when you’re not supposed to walk. The only way they could tell the difference is that symbols are higher up or lower down, just like a stoplight.

Green Walking Man IMG_0199

There are some intersections where I haven’t seen anything that looks like a stop sign. How do they know how to stop? According to Wikipedia, I see that they should have stop signs (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Road_signs_in_Norway), but I have yet to see one. All I’ve seen are their No Parking (red slash with blue background), No Stopping (red x with blue background), and Speed Limit signs (Sone ____, sone meaning zone), as well as the pedestrian crossing, shared footway, and bike lane signs. But still, no stop signs. I’ve seen that be an issue in some locations.

So many signs!What do they mean?

Money here is quite interesting. Like we would say one dollar versus five dollars, krone is singular and kroner is plural. While I have seen prices such as NOK 51,90 (51.90), I haven’t seen anything less than a 1 krone coin, so I haven’t seen the 50 ore piece in use. I have a feeling that prices are now rounded up to the nearest full krone. As you can also see in the pictures, the smallest denomination krone/kroner coins have a hole in the center. NOK 500 bills are like $100 bills and aren’t always accepted at smaller business, such as Chateau Neuf, the student bar. I have not seen a NOK 1000 bill or the 50 ore coin in person, while I have seen all the other denominations.

rachelandclare.wordpress.com

rachelandclare.wordpress.com

Despite high taxes, taxes are built into the prices you see while shopping. When looking at my hiking shoes, I saw they were NOK 1099 and the spray was NOK 75, and my total was NOK 1174; I knew that would be the price I would pay. It wasn’t until I looked at the receipt that I saw that the shoes were taxed at 25% (yes, 25%). I like this way of being taxed much more, as I knew how much it would cost me without the price increasing at check out, as it would in the U.S.

4 thoughts on “Norwegian Life: Signs, Money, and Taxes

  1. Alyssa Cowles says:

    Isn’t the little green man walking? Also, I have seen roads that don’t have stop signs before and gotten very confused. If you look at this guide (http://cdn-img.drivemex.com/roadsigns-20120316T031458-zzrl7pn-europe.png) there are several signs on the bottom left that indicate right of way. If you are on a road that has the yellow diamond or the the thick arrow with a thin line through it, you shouldn’t have to stop. If you are on a road with the the yellow diamond with three diagonal lines slashed through it, you are supposed to stop at intersections. Have you seen any of those signs around?

    • Yes, but I think it may be confusing for others if they’ve never see it before and don’t know the colors. But there are many differences between the “stop walking” and the “walk.”

      I haven’t seen any of those yellow diamond signs. I asked my new Norwegian friend, Håkon, about who has to stop at an intersection, and he said the person on the right has the right of way when there are no stop signs. Still disconcerting for me having come from a place with many stop signs…

Leave a comment